Twisted Wire II – a vaping journey

Greetings.

As with yesterday’s post please be advised that the following concerns vaping and there will be plenty of technical jargon.

*

Cheered by the success of my DIY twisted wire yesterday…I decided to get some thinner, higher resistance wires to play around with. Yesterday’s 2nd wire came out with resistance too low for any of my devices to safely fire.

Ohms Law: very similar to a water pipe. The thicker the pipe the easier the water flows, while the thinner pipes make it harder for the flow. Same for vape coil wire.

So we begin with actually making the twisted wire itself. Today I’m using 26 gauge Nikrothal (generic name for Nichrome, I believe) and 32 gauge Kanthal, which is verrry thin. Hooking the wire into a clothes peg and pen allowed me to twist it until the wire snapped.

I had to clamp out the kink just off centre. Then I wrapped the coil, by hand this time, having noticed that my coil jig doesn’t do so well with my twisted wire.

Above is a spaced coil with an inner diameter of 2.5 millimetres. Remember, more surface area = more flavour. Yesterday’s coil had the wraps touching but I wanted to space them out today, see if it made a difference.

Dual coils installed and gently worked to ensure they glow evenly from the inside out. Resistance comes out at 0.32 ohms. The difference the thinner wire makes in resistance means that I can do a dual coil setup in comparison to the single coil yesterday.

Wicks placed (I messed up a lil bit on my ‘outside device’ and it’s leaked slightly; still learning.

Wicks tucked in (after fluffing the ends I tuck from the back and then the front) and juiced. Today’s juice is Trap Queen, by Nasty Juice, a wonderful strawberry with a hint of mint. Gorrrrg ❤

Let’s see how it vapes 😉

That…is a wonderful vape. 52.5 watts (:

And I made it all myself!! 😀 😀

I haven’t had to add more juice yet and I’ve taken a LOT of inhalations. Success!

Thank you so much for reading. Don’t worry, there is more poetry on its way, that is what this blog is primarily for. I haven’t forgotten about the final part of The Wolf’s Lair 😉 I have a few videos I’m working on as well, which I can upload soon, hopefully.

Raviera.

Leave a Reply

