Turmeric Milk – a health musing

image

image

image

Afternoon.

As I’m currently super phlegmy and ill I’ve been making an

image

d- oops!

Forgot to add the tea.  🙂
Been ill and so I’ve been making lots of Indian tea to help clear my chest and keep my throat from being too sore.

Indian tea, or masala chai (translates to ‘spicy tea’) is different across the length and breadth of India. Every family makes it differently with countless variations in process, ingredients and strength.

While lying in bed with a blocked nose and tight chest, reading articles, I came across a recipe for Turmeric Milk. It sounds wonderful! Ingredients list is verrrry similar to Indian tea but with a whole teaspoon of turmeric as well. The recipe didn’t mention tea, but I’ve added a heaped teaspoon of loose leaf Assam.

Because I’m a tea fiend.  ^_^

There will be a recipe for my own family’s brand of Indian tea in due course, but for now here is my one (taken from a few different recipes) for turmeric milk.

-2x cups of milk (I’ve gone for 3/4 soya and 1/4 semi skimmed)
-2x 3cm long cinnamon sticks
-5x cloves
-4x cardamom (crushed with a spoon)
-1x teaspoon of runny honey
-1x heaped teaspoon of ground almonds
-1x heaped teaspoon of turmeric
-1x piece of fresh ginger (I used an inch piece cut up after peeling)
-1x level teaspoon of loose leaf Assam tea

Throw the whole lot in a pan and put on low heat. Bring it to the boil.

image

Simmer it on a very low heat after, bringing the volume down to make the taste stronger.

Whole preparation and cooking time is about 20 minutes. Hopefully it tastes good! It smells great.

This apparently has a whole load of health benefits due to the turmeric. Ginger is very good also, and drinking a smoothie with raw ginger in it can really perk you up when ill.

🙂

Raviera

5 thoughts on “Turmeric Milk – a health musing

Leave a Reply

